Pokemon Go Tips & Tricks “Eevee Evolutions SECRET” iOS/Android

Pokemon Go Tips & Tricks "Eevee Evolutions SECRET" iOS/Android

Pokemon Go Tips & Tricks “Eevee Evolutions SECRET” iOS/Android

In the classic Pokémon games, Eevee can evolve into different elemental varieties based on the use of special items, its happiness level, moves it has available and even the time of day. In Pokémon Go, the ways you evolve Pokémon is much simpler, and as such you cannot use the tried-and-tested method of using one of three elemental stones to turn Eevee into Flareon, Jolteon and Vaporeon.

Instead, fans of the game on Reddit have discovered neat trick that will help get you the evolution you need.

How to evolve Eevee into Vaporeon, Flareon and Jolteon

If you choose to evolve Eevee without any meddling – by feeding it 25 Eevee candy – then it’ll turn to one of the above three types at random. However, users have discovered a trick that allows you to target Flareon, Jolteon or Vaporeon, by renaming it in one of the following ways:

Rename as Rainer to evolve into water type Vaporeon
Rename as Sparky to evolve into lightning type Jolteon
Rename as Pyro to evolve into fire type Flareon
Why Sparky, Rainer and Pyro? These are the names of the Eevee brothers from the Pokémon television show, who meet with Ash and the gang in episode 40 to show off their respective Eevee evolutions:

Once you have called your Eevee into one of the above names, you should quit and reload the app to double check the name change has taken place, which is important considering the servers can lean to be on the unreliable side.

Once you’ve double checked the new name is indeed in place, then evolve the Eevee as you would any other Pokémon by feeding it Candy, and it should take the form of your chosen type.

You can see the trick in action below:

Note that while plenty of users have had success with this method, there are a handful of cases where it hasn’t worked every time; some say the trick will only work on the first time you evolve the creature, while others might have caught fowl of server issues not renaming their successfully first time.

How do you evolve Eevee into Espeon, Umbreon, Leafeon, Glaceon and Sylveon in Pokémon Go?

If you want to get your hands on one of Eevee’s many other evolution in Pokémon Go, you can’t just yet. Pokémon Go only features Pokédex entries from the Kanto region – in other words, the original 151 creatures from Red, Blue and Yellow – which means Eevee can only evolve into Flareon, Jolteon and Vaporeon for now.

It’ll be interesting to see whether the game expands to cover more creatures in time, and if so, if there are any tricks required to access these other elemental types.

Watch on YouTube

Leave a Reply